Stories, pledges & movements: bringing emotion to strategy

noelito
2 min readAug 1, 2021

--

At a recent Senior Leadership Forum, I introduced my new service and right up until the day before I wanted to crowdsource their needs for how best we could support them. But throughout there was something that wasn’t quite right, I couldn’t put my finger on it…

Until the day before, where I just thought this exercise feels too dry and it won’t get people thinking differently…I started thinking about what is it deep down that mobilises people for policy change — it’s stories like Cathy Come Home and I’ve written before about how you can develop story-based strategy and how I try fictional writing to practice my storytelling, its movements like Black Lives Matter or pledges like the Living Wage Campaign.

So I decided that instead of crowdsourcing their policy & research needs, I’d ask them:

1. How can we better use stories & evidence in the strategies we develop?

2. How can we build movements around the strategies & activities we develop?

3. How can we create better ways for organisations to pledge specific commitments to improving our communities?

What stories, movements or pledges have stuck with you?

How have you used them in developing strategies?

How would you use them?

--

--

noelito

Head of Policy Design, Scrutiny & Partnerships @newhamlondon #localgov Co-founder of #systemschange & #servicedesign progs. inspired by @cescaalbanese